Ed Ahmad Cup
EACA

NY Mayor's Cup
Nassau League
NY Softball
WI Softball
Wallpapers
NYPD Cricket
School Cricket
WICB Unveils Digicel Series 2010 Zimbabwe And South Africa To visit West Indies

Dec. 12th, 2009
The West Indies will play three Test matches, 10 One-Day Internationals and two T20 Internationals in what is a packed season of international cricket in the Caribbean in 2010, the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) announced on Saturday.

The West Indies will host South Africa for three Test matches, five One-Day Internationals and a T20 International between May 17 and June 30 in the third leg of the international season. Earlier in the year, Zimbabwe will visit the region for five One-Dayers and a T20 International. They arrive on February 23 and leave on March 15.

In outlining the schedules for the 2010 Digicel Series in the West Indies, Dr Ernest Hilaire, Chief Executive Officer of the WICB, noted that the season will also include the eagerly-anticipated International Cricket Council’s World Twenty20 World Cups for men and women which will played in Barbados, St Lucia Guyana and St Kitts, from April 30 to May 16.


Windies players celebrates a wicket. Photo courtesy of Digicelcricket/Brooks Gordon.

“2010 promises to be an exciting season of cricket for fans and supporters of West Indies cricket. The Digicel Series 2010 will feature the South Africans – one of the best teams in world cricket with some of the best players in the modern game on their side. We will also be hosting Zimbabwe for limited-overs matches and this promises to be an exciting series as well,” Dr Hilaire said.

“The West Indies team has some outstanding core players as well as a number of young players on the horizon who will be eager to break into the team and be recognised on the international stage. The upcoming Digicel Series will be a good chance for them to stand up and be counted. Caribbean fans will be delighted to see their team on the field as they strive for victory and move up the ICC’s international rankings.”

Dr Hilaire added: “At the WICB we will be looking to bring some innovations throughout the season as we reach out to our fans and other stakeholders. We urge all lovers of Windies cricket to come out and enjoy every match as they support the ‘home boys’ and ‘rally round the West Indies’. We want to thank Digicel for their continued support of the West Indies team and cricket throughout the region.”

The three Tests between the Windies and the Proteas will be at Sabina Park, Jamaica; Warner Park, St Kitts and Kensington Oval Barbados. The series will also make stops in Trinidad with two ODIs and a T20 International; in Dominica for two ODIs and a One-Dayer in Jamaica.

Zimbabwe open their campaign against the Windies in Trinidad with a T20 International, before playing two ODIs at the Guyana National Stadium, Providence; followed by three ODIs at Arnos Vale in St Vincent.

Full listing of fixtures for Digicel Series 2010
Zimbabwe in the West Indies

Tuesday, February 23: arrive in Trinidad
Friday, February 26 at UWISPEC
vs UWI Vice Chancellor’s XI
Sunday, February 28 in Trinidad
Digicel Twenty20 International
Thursday, March 4 at Providence, Guyana
1st Digicel One-Day International
Saturday, March 6 at Providence, Guyana
2nd Digicel One-Day International
Wednesday, March 10 at Arnos Vale, St Vincent
3rd Digicel One-Day International
Friday, March 12 at Arnos Vale St Vincent
4th Digicel One-Day International
Sunday, March 14 at Arnos Vale, St Vincent
5th Digicel One-Day International
Monday March 15: depart from St Vincent

South Africa in the West Indies
Monday, May 17: travel to Trinidad
Wednesday, May 19 in Trinidad
Digicel Twenty20 International
Saturday, May 22 at Queen’s Park Oval, Trinidad
1st Digicel One-Day International
Monday, May 24 at Queen’s Park Oval, Trinidad
2nd Digicel One-Day International
Thursday, May 27 at Windsor Park, Dominica
3rd Digicel One-Day International
Sunday, May 30 at Windsor Park, Dominica
4th Digicel One-Day International
Wednesday, June 2 at Sabina Park, Jamaica
5th Digicel One-Day International
Saturday June 5 to Sunday June 6
warm-up match at Chedwin Park, Jamaica
Thursday, June 10 to Monday, June 14
1st Digicel Test Match at Sabina Park, Jamaica
Friday, June 18 to Tuesday, June 22
2nd Digicel Test Match at Warner Park, St Kitts
Saturday, June 26 to Wednesday, June 30
3rd Digicel Test Match at Kensington Oval, Barbados


Send your comment

This Site is Maintained By SIM's Graphics. Contact Us at admin@newyorkcricket.com