Ed Ahmad Cup

NY Mayor's Cup
Nassau League
NY Softball
WI Softball
NYPD Cricket
School Cricket
Butts Expects Positive Steps From Windies In Australia
Gayle Reappointed Skipper

Nov. 2nd, 2009
Chairman of West Indies selectors, Clyde Butts, says he expects the West Indies Team to do well on the upcoming tour of Australia. Speaking on Monday when the team was announced, Butts expressed confidence that the players will stand up and be counted in the three Test matches.

Chris Gayle was reappointed captain of the West Indies team.

“I believe the players selected will make positives steps forward and overall I believe the team will have positive results in Australia. I think we have a good combination and an experienced team which I expect to do very well. We expect the players to give a good account of themselves and perform well for West Indies. We have selected a balanced team … we have a quality bowling attack, and a very good batting line-up with players who have performed on the international stage. We believe the players all have the ability to deliver at the highest level,” said Butts, a former Guyana Captain and West Indies spinner.

Chris Gayle has been named as Captain of the team and Joel Garner as Team Manager for the tour and David Williams as Coach.

The West Indies and Australia will be vying for the Frank Worrell Trophy in the Test matches which will be played at the Gabba in Brisbane (November 26-30), the Adelaide Oval (December 4-8) and at the WACA Ground in Perth (December 16-20).

FULL SQUAD: Chris Gayle (Captain), Adrian Barath, Sulieman Benn, Dwayne Bravo, Shiv Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine, Travis Dowlin, Brendan Nash, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Darren Sammy, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Jerome Taylor, Gavin Tonge.

Tour schedule
November 18-21: vs Queensland at Allan Border Field, Queensland
November 26-30: 1st Test at the Gabba, Brisbane
December 4-8: 2nd Test at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
December 16-20: 3rd Test at WACA Ground, Perth


This Site is Maintained By SIM's Graphics. Contact Us at admin@newyorkcricket.com