Ed Ahmad Cup

NY Mayor's Cup
Nassau League
NY Softball
WI Softball
NYPD Cricket
School Cricket
United Chargers - Champions!

By Sam Sooppersaud

Saturday, September 19, 2009 | Gallery
The United Chargers became the New York Premier League champions when they defeated the Cricket Zone Enforcers in an exciting finals played on Saturday, September 19, 2009, at the New Canarsie Cricket Ground, in Brooklyn, N.Y. It was a game in which the large crowd was utterly entertained, but a game not without numerous controversy, one of which may have swung the pendulum towards the winners. In the end Chargers won the match very convincingly.

Glen Hall (top) continues his prolific season hitting 39 against Pakistan and 77 against Cricket Zone Enforcers in the NYPL semi and final. Carl Wright during his knock of 45. (Photos by Zaheer Saffie)

Earlier in the day the two finalists had defeated their opponents in their respective Semi-finals matches. The United Chargers took on Pakistan, while Cricket Zone Enforcers opposed NY Titans. Glen Hall (39) and Carl Wright (24) set the stage for a large score by the Chargers, with a first wicket partnership of 45. When the Chargers took first strike.

The remaining batsmen capitalized on this start by posting a total of 156 runs for 7 wickets in their 20 overs. Steve Massiah (15), Rashad Marshall (20), and David Mohamed (17) were the other batsmen to reach double figures. For Pakistan the pick of the bowlers was N. Arif who captured 3 Chargers wickets for 26.

Pakistan was only able to muster 80 runs when they batted, undone by the willy spin of Richard Sewchand who returned figures of 4 for 29 in 4 overs. Sudesh Dhaniram started the rut when he took a wicket in each of his first two overs. He ended up with figures of 3 for 11 runs in 4 overs.

In the other semi-finals, Enforcers versus Titans, the latter won the toss and took first knock. They enjoyed a 41 run first wicket partnership between Andrew Gonzales and Marlon Kallicharran. They were unable to take full advantage of this good start. Wickets fell in a steady stream. Titans were eventually dismissed for a gettable 104 runs. The more successful bowlers for Enforcers were Bruce Blackwood (2 for 23) and Ryan Smith (3 for 15).

Cricket Zone Enforcers surpassed the Titans' asking total in the seventeenth over, scoring 105 for the loss of 5 wickets. Destroyer of the Titans' bowling was O'neil Powell who scored a masterful 56 runs. Ryan Smith (18) and Nick Samuels (15) contributed to the win. Dwayne Smith too 3 for 8 and Vijai Seunarine 2 for 14 accounted for the 5 wickets that fell.

United Chargers and Cricket Zone Enforcers then went at each other in the finals. Chargers won the toss and elected to bat. As usual they opened their innings with Glen Hall and Carl Wright, two of their batsmen who have scored prolifickly during the preliminary rounds of the NYPL. They once again repeated their performances, Wright scoring 45 runs before he was bowled by Bruce Blackwood attempting another of his monstrous hits. Glen Hall went on to score a match winning 77 runs before he was run out by a direct throw, while trying to score a second run. Sudesh Dhaniram hit a quickfire 15 and Skipper Steve Massiah 21 in 8 balls helped United Chargers to reach 176 for the loss of 6 wickets off their 20 overs. Nick Samuels (2 for 25) and Bruce Blackwood (2 for 24) and two run outs accounted for the 6 wickets to fall.

Cricket Zone started their reply disastrously. Opener Ryan Smith fanned at a shortish ball in Reon King's first over, got the slightest of edge and was taken low down to the right of wicketkeeper Vishal Nagamootoo. O'Neil Powell (2) and Tony Powell (7) fell in quick succession to the medium pace bowling of Sudesh Dhaniram. Two overs later it was 4 wickets down for 53 runs. Enforcers in dire trouble. They never really recovered. A fifth wicket stand of 56 between Everton Nelson (64) and Ron Andrews (25) revived the hopes of the Enforcers to "pull this off". Once they were separated, it was only a matter of time until the rest of the wickets crumbled. Enforcers fell short of the Chargers asking total by 42 runs. Everton Nelson entertained the crowd with his lusty hitting durin his magnificent innings of 64.

As in the semi-finals Richard Sewchand once again spun his mystery. His bowling account: 3.5 overs, 23 runs, 4 wickets. Dhaniram 2 for 31 and Reon King 1 for 17 were the other wicket takers. The show, however, was stolen by wicketkeeper Vishal Nagamootoo who accounted for four victims, 1 run out, 1 caught behind, diving full length to his right, and 2 stumped, in a lightning manner.

The United Chhargers thus became the Champions in the inaugural season of the New York Premier League. Following the game an award ceremony was held in which individual players were recognized for exceptional performances. Following are the recepients and the awards: Richard Sewchand, Best Bowling, Glen Hall, Most Runs and M.V.P, Carl Wright, M.V.P. of the Tournament. United Chargers received their winner's check for $7000 while Cricket Zone Enforcers received the runners-up check for $2000. Everyone, spectators, league administrators, team officials, and players, agreed, that this, the first season of the NYP, was a resounding success.

This Site is Maintained By SIM's Graphics. Contact Us at admin@newyorkcricket.com