Home News

Archive News
Ed Ahmad Cup

Nassau League
NY Softball

Massiah, Cush In Charge For Guyana Tour

By Orin Davidson
As expected Steve Massiah and Lennox Cush will spearhead the USA Guyana team to tour Guyana at the end of the month.

The squad comprises 14 players with Massiah retaining the captaincy with Cush the vice captain.

The list confirms the selection of New York Under-19 team star, all rounder Gregory Sewdial.He is the lone selectee who was not a regular in the USA Guyana squad which swept the Ahmad Caribbean Cup series 50 overs and Twenty/20 overs titles in the summer. Reon King and Neil McGarrell who represented Guyana in the just concluded West Indies Cricket Board KFC Cup limited overs championship are also selected.

From all appearances the management of USA Guyana has secured the release of the two players to represent them ahead of the Regional side.

USA Guyana will oppose Guyana in two 40 overs games and one Twenty/20 encounter during the tour to comprise one week. The Twenty/20 clash is set for the Guyana National Stadium at Providence on December 1 while the other two matches are slated for the GCC ground Bourda on Novemver 30 and the Albion Sports Complex in Berbice on December 4.

The tour has received the full blessings of the Guyana Cricket Board.

A number of non-cricket activities are included on the tour, the highlight being a Duck Curry competition organized by Kings Jewelry on December 2 at the Starlight Drive-In, Montrose East Coast Demerara.

Squad: Steve Massiah (captain),Lennox Cush (vice captain) Sudesh Dhaniram, Neil McGarrel, Reon King, Nandlall Kumar, Qayaam Farrouq, Teleston Johnson, Mohamed Rasheed, Ajaz Asgarally, Gregory Sewdial, Zamin Amin, Karan Ganesh, Hemnarain Harrinarian, Victor Benjamin (trainer), Milton Pydana (coach), Shook Shivmangal (manager),Ralph Tamesh (asst manager)

Guyana squad: Narsingh Deonarine (Captain), Leon Johnson, Gajanand Singh, Travis Dowlin, Sewnarine Chattergoon, Royston Crandon, Assad Fudadin, Derwin Christian, Mahendra Nagamootoo, Esaun Crandon, Christopher Barnwell, Zaheer Mohamed.
Orin Davidson Column Homepage

This Site is Maintained By SIM's Graphics. Contact Us at admin@newyorkcricket.com